This project is read-only.

Lets make this usable as a mouse!

Oct 11, 2008 at 11:59 PM
Edited Oct 12, 2008 at 12:00 AM
go it working on my desktop, and i am freaking amazed.
i put red electrical tape on the end of my finger, and boom, i was playing snake. that is , after i realized i didnt have .NET installed.(very non-descript error message.)

hows this, 2 colors of tape, on 2 fingers.
make the red one used to move the mouse, and when the 2nd color become visible its a click. maybe add another color for right click.

i have little experience with code, but i think this community can make it happen. I plan on doing some learning and actually contributing. C++ sound like a good place to start?
i plan on using this with my projector, maybe using LEDs as markers, as tape in the dark will, my guess, not work.

Who's in?
Oct 12, 2008 at 7:20 PM
Trum4n, I appreciate your enthusiasm!
Tape on your finger should work great. And using a second marker for a click is definitely one of the more popular ideas.It's pretty easy to hide your thumb behind your other fingers and use a "thumbs up" as a click.

If you're unfamiliar with the supported languages (C++, C#, and VB), I'd recommend C#; it's very easy to learn.
This might be a good place to start your research: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms646970(VS.85).aspx

Using Touchless with a projector is a great idea, but you're right that it will require active markers (something that emits light like and LED).

You might want to add a feature request in the Issues section to setup a transformation between webcam input and marker on-screen coordinates.
That way you could easily setup direct manipulation with the camera at an angle that wouldn't get so much background noise from the projector's light.
I imagine lots of people will want this feature.
Dec 10, 2008 at 8:03 AM
Tried it, and it works well.