use touchless to control website content

Feb 10, 2009 at 11:30 AM
hi,

I just tried the touchless SDK and was quite happy to see an open source project using a webcam to interact with a graphical interface. Since I am quite new to dotnet and since my background is web related, I would like to ask if it would be possible to integrate touchless into a web site as client application to interact with it?
I thought of something like ActiveX or similar ..

I've done a bit of research and found nothing appropriate, yet. It would be nice to control web content without a mouse just using your hands and some predefined gestures ( or modify the application to learn your gestures and save it as a profile? ).

I appreciate every answer. Thank you in advance.

plex.
Coordinator
Feb 11, 2009 at 9:56 PM
Hi plex,

Unfortunately, I don't know much about running Touchless (or arbitrary dlls) client-side from a website.
Hopefully someone else does! Otherwise, you could build a client-side app that's run normally alongside a browser.
You can interpret Touchless data as gestures and then fire keyboard/mouse events.
You'd be able to scroll, pageup/pagedown, zoom (with ctrl-scrollwhell), etc. on most (read: non-flash) websites.

Also, flash has some webcam support, so one could theoretically implement something like Touchless in flash.

- Mike
Feb 13, 2009 at 10:11 AM
Hello michwass,

thank you for your reply. I'm sorry I could not answer immediately :(

I recently evaluated Touchless as an ActiveX control inside a web page, with some limitations ActiveX implies:

- the user must install and accept the new component and be willing to access system ressources ( taking over mouse control etc..)
-> this implies that a lot of user won't be willing to do so..

as an alternative I tried the mouse control integration of touchless, which is a good start, but offers limited precise control over the mouse ( as you have written as comment in the demo app ).