UML Modelling with Touchless SDK

Feb 18, 2010 at 12:19 AM
Edited Feb 18, 2010 at 4:11 AM

Greetings to you all,

I am a student currently studying at Bournemouth University. I have decided for my project that I will attempt to use the Touchless SDK to create a Silverlight based UML modelling tool.  Hopefully, if things go well, I will be able to make this a collaborative tool but only if there is time.

For those of you that are interested in following my progress, I will create a blog shortly after this post and then edit to include its location.

EDIT: Blog can be found here (http://touchlessumlmodelling.blogspot.com/). For those of you that intend to read it, please keep in mind that I am required to maintain this blog by my university and that it is used for task and deadline definition and tracking and not a typical discussion type blog. This is also my first serious project and I have no way (or really idea) about how id go about hosting a Silverlight applications so that I can show demo's and progress to you guys or anyone outside localhost.  I really would like to though but could only spend a maximum of £5-7 a month to host it as i am student-poor.

After playing around with the demo included along-side the SDK download, it is clear that while the SDK works well with large objects of a colour that is not abundant in the video's background, it cannot define marker locations accurately enough (with default settings) to facilitate respectable drag-and-drop functionality to GUI elements.